Captain Bill, together with his wife Sis, started Harris Crab House in the summer of 1981 on the front dock of the W. H. Harris Seafood Processing House, so customers could sit and enjoy fresh seafood. Today we celebrate five generations of Harris’ involvement in the business. We honor Bill and Sis Harris and the community as we strive to maintain the legacy graciously bestowed upon our family.
The old processing house, which started business in December 1947, is still home to Harris Seafood Company, LLC, under new ownership since 2004. W. H. Harris Seafood was one of over 20 oyster shucking houses in the area, and having withstood the test of time; remains the only operating oyster house open year round in Maryland.
In 1991, Karen and Art Oertel with Jerry and Pat Harris opened the new Crab House with open air upstairs decks overlooking the moving picturesque waters of the Kent Narrows.
Harris Crab House, now also owned by Mike Harris, Dan Harris, Debbie Schilling, Jo Anne Gebelein and Bill Oertel, has filled the restaurant over the years with artifacts from the ever enduring seafood industry. That history of hard work and dedication is the very essence and heritage of the Eastern Shore.
With its open air decks, our guests have a clear view of the old processing house, multitudes of waterfowl, sunset views, boats and the hardworking watermen that help in providing a safe and healthy seafood product for our customers.